July 05 2020
Railway Budget 2014-15: Highlights
08 July 2014

No new increase in passenger fares and freight charges

* Bullet train in Mumbai-Ahmedabad sector

* Diamond quadrilateral for high speed trains

* Plan to hike speed of trains to 160-200 km/hr in 9 sectors

* Online booking to support 7,200 tickets per minute; to allow 1.2 lakh users log in simultaneously

* Reservation system to be revamped, ticket-booking through mobile phones, post offices to be popularised

* Online platform for unreserved tickets

* Combo parking-platform tickets at stations

* Women RPF Constables to escort ladies coaches; 4,000 women constables to be inducted

* Retiring room facility to be extended to all stations

* Battery operated cars for differently-abled and senior citizens at major stations

* Feedback services through IVRS on quality of food

* Food can be ordered through SMS, phone; Food courts at major stations

* Cleanliness budget up by 40 per cent over last year

* CCTVs to be used at stations for monitoring cleanliness

* Setting up of corpus fund for stations’ upkeep; RO drinking water in some stations and trains

* Automatic door closing in mainline and sub-urban coaches

* 58 new trains and extension of 11; 864 additional EMUs to be introduced in Mumbai over 2 years

* FDI in railway projects, except in operations

* FDI, domestic investments in rail infrastructure

* Office-on-Wheels: Internet & workstation facilities on select trains

* WiFi in A1, A category stations and in select trains

* Railways university for technical and non-technical subjects

* Some stations to be developed to international standards through PPP model

* Parcel traffic to be segregated to separate terminals to make passenger traffic unhindered

* Loss per passenger per kilometre up from 10 per cent in 2000-01 to 23 per cent in 2012-13

* Solar energy to be tapped at major stations

* Highest ever plan outlay of Rs. 65,455 crore for 2014-15

* Expenditure in 2014-15 pegged at Rs. 149,176 crore.

New Trains

Jansadharan Trains

i) Ahmedabad-Darbhanga Jansadharan Express via Surat

Ii Jaynagar-Mumbai Jansadharan Express

ii) Mumbai-Gorakhpur Jansadharan Express

iv) Saharasa-Anand Vihar Jansadharan Express via Motihari

v) Saharasa-Amritsar Jansadharan Express

Premium Trains

i) Mumbai Central-New Delhi Premium AC Express

ii) Shalimar-Chennai Premium AC Express

iii) Secunderabad-Hazrat Nizamuddin Premium AC Express 6

iv) Jaipur-Madurai Premium Express

v) Kamakhya-Bengaluru Premium Express

AC ExpressTrains

i) VijayawadaNewDelhiAPExpress (Daily)

ii) LokmanyaTilak(T)-Lucknow (Weekly)

iii) Nagpur-Pune (Weekly)

iv) Nagpur-Amritsar (Weekly)

v) Naharlagun-NewDelhi (Weekly)

vi) Nizamuddin-Pune (Weekly)

Express Trains

i) Ahmedabad-Patna Express (Weekly)via Varanasi

ii) Ahmedabad Chennai Express (Biweekly)via Vasai Road

iii) Bengaluru -Mangalore Express (Daily)

iv) Bengaluru -Shimoga Express (Biweekly)

v) Bandra(T)-Jaipur Express (Weekly) via Nagda, Kota

vi) Bidar-Mumbai Express (Weekly)

vii) Chhapra-Lucknow Express (Tri weekly) via Ballia, Ghazipur, Varanasi

viii) Ferozpur-Chandigarh Express (6 days a week)

ix) Guwahati-Naharlagun Intercity Express (Daily)

x) Guwahati-Murkongselek Intercity Express (Daily)

xi) Gorakhpur-Anand Vihar Express (Weekly)

xii) Hapa-Bilaspur Express (Weekly)via Nagpur

xiii) Hazur Saheb Nanded-Bikaner Express (Weekly)

xiv) Indore-Jammu Tawi Express (Weekly)

xv) Kamakhya-Katra Express (Weekly) via Darbhanga

xvi) Kanpur-Jammu Tawi Express (Biweekly)

xvii) Lokmanya Tilak(T)-Azamgarh Express (Weekly)

xviii) Mumbai_Kazipeth Express (Weekly) via Balharshah

xix) Mumbai-Palitana Express (Weekly)

xx) New Delhi Bhatinda Shatabdi Express (Biweekly)

xxi) New Delhi-Varanasi Express (Daily)

xxii) Paradeep-Howrah Express (Weekly)

xxiii) Paradeep-Visakhapatnam Express (Weekly)

xxiv) Rajkot-Rewa Express (Weekly)

xxv) Ramnagar-Agra Express (Weekly)

xxvi) Tatanagar Baiyyappanahali (Bengaluru) Express (Weekly)

xxvii) Visakhapatnam-Chennai Express (Weekly)

Passenger Trains

i) Bikaner-Rewari Passenger (Daily)

ii) Dharwad-Dandeli Passenger (Daily)via Alnavar

iii) Gorakhpur-Nautanwa Passenger (Daily)

iv) Guwahati-Mendipathar Passenger (Daily)

v) Hatia-Rourkela Passenger 7

vi) Byndoor-Kasaragod Passenger (Daily)

vii) Rangapara North-Rangiya Passenger (Daily)

viii) Yesvantpur-Tumkur Passenger (Daily)

MEMU services

i) Bengaluru-Ramanagaram 6 days a week (3 Pairs)

ii) Palwal-Delhi-Aligarh

DEMU services

i) Bengaluru-Neelmangala (Daily)

ii) Chhapra-Manduadih (6days a week) via Ballia

iii) Baramula-Banihal (Daily)

iv) Sambalpur-Rourkela (6 days a week)

v) Yesvantpur-Hosur (6 days a week)



Related Stories